OctoSquidy Ornament Tutorial

Oh Hello, I am am OctoSquid and I am in a tree!
Now, you might have noticed my recent obsession with Spoonflower, for those of you who haven’t noticed (or haven’t bothered to click the links) Spoonflower is a service that lets you print your own custom fabrics, on demand, with no minimum yardage. It’s a dreamland for crafty types. It also allows designers the opportunity to share and sell their designs with the world.

This is my first ever cut-out-and-sew design, a little winter treat for the fans of OctoSquid. You can get him here by selecting the ‘swatch’ option ($5), shipping is about $2 internationally so he’s pretty affordable.

But once you’ve got him, how do you put him together? Here is, another first for me, a little tutorial…

When you receive your kit it’ll look like this. You’ll need to get a short piece of ribbon (about 6 inches will do) and some sewing equipment. (Do you like my sexy tiger print scissors? You know you do.) He’ll probably arrive folded up, in which case its best to iron him before proceeding. (I did iron him but I have a phobia of irons, which is why I didn’t do a good job).

Cut out both pieces along the outside of the pale band. They should now look like this.

Keep your scraps, they have the instructions printed on them, just in case.

Place one piece on the table, right side up. Fold you ribbon in half and place it at the top. Then add the second piece, wrong side up. The ribbon is now in the middle of a squidy sandwich.

Pin all the way around. I left the bottom unpinned to remind me not to sew all the way around.

If you’re using a sewing machine the aperture in the foot will give you a good guide for where to sew. If you’re sewing by hand, the paler band should still be visible through the fabric, remember to use small stitches to keep the stuffing in.

Double sew at the ribbon for extra strength. Then turn right side out, the ribbon makes a useful handle to pull the inside out.

Your decoration should now look like this. You might want to iron him again before you stuff him, though if you fill it tightly to creases will pull out anyway. Don’t do what I did. I filled mine with beanbag beans (because I have lots of them) before I remembered that beanbag beans are really annoying and get everywhere (that’s why I still have lots of them). They also make it very hard to stuff the ornament tightly.

Pin the gap at the bottom closed and then hand sew to finish. OctoSquidy is now ready to grace your tree.

This tree is in our front garden. The neighbours now think I’m crazy.

2 Comments

Filed under Art, Cartoon, craft, Tutorial

2 responses to “OctoSquidy Ornament Tutorial

  1. dilystreacle

    Looks awesome Vyctoria, a festive squid, I like his Christmassy top hat! …Think I might have to check out Spoonflower myself in the new year. Did you get your teatowel design back yet? Also, 2 more things..1. cool scissors. 2. you have a real life xmas tree in your garden with cones & everything! wow! double cool!

    • Thanks! I think Spoonflower would be a good fit for you, and it’d be very meta – prints made from fabric printed on fabric.

      I don’t have the tea towel proofs back yet, next year I’m going have to make everything well a head of time. September probably.

      He’s only an ickle xmas tree, even in his pot he’s not shoulder high yet. Weighing up the coolness of getting lights for him against the likelihood that they will be nicked 😦

Leave a Reply

