Quick Update

I seem to to use all my posts to apologise for not posting much don’t I?

Not much to say at the moment. My rib is still broken and I’m struggling to get anything done. Yes, the rib I cracked on the 7th of July, is still broken. Doctors can’t do anything about it so I just have to languish until it sorts itself out.

Apparently the second half of the current Doctor Who season starts next week (27th of August). I’m reserving judgment. So far I’ve been disappointed with this season. I have no problem with the Eleventh Doctor, I wasn’t happy when I saw the pre-production shots, and there’s something about Matt Smith IRL that makes me twitch, but he makes an excellent madcap Doctor. And he doesn’t spit all the time which was getting a bit off putting with Ten by the end. I’m not all that bothered about Rory or Amy, their characters aren’t that interesting but at least they aren’t Donna. I adore River, I can’t wait to see where they go with her story.

And yet… the episodes themselves haven’t been up to the usual quality. With the exception of the Neil Gaiman episode, which was frankly one of the best episodes since Blink. It was pure genius- funny, clever, heartbreaking, it had everything.

“Biting’s excellent! It’s like kissing, but there’s a winner.”

But the pirate ship episode? That didn’t feel phoned in, it felt carrier-pigeoned in. “We saw Pirates of the Caribbean and thought ‘We’ll have some of that!’ but with a budget of 50p!” I have a lot of the tie-in fiction books, they’re good for mindless reading, but I didn’t expect the actual episodes to be on a par with them. It might improve though, I mean Donna went away eventually (though we never did get to see her head explode, I’d have paid good money for that) and no amount of good plots could make her tolerable. Hopefully The Grand Moff will pull something exciting out of the bag in the second half of the season to make up for the dross.

In the meantime I’ve been listening to Chameleon Circuit’s second album Still Got Legs on repeat for the last couple of weeks. It’s excellent, exactly the kind of upbeat, geeky, funny music I needed right now. If you like Doctor Who and rock then you should enjoy this. Apparently the combination of the two is called trock. So far trock is much less disturbing than wrock (Harry Potter themed music). This is my favorite track (I do love The Mister Master) –

Or maybe it’s this one-

I really should get their first album. Hmmmmm.

Join me at: SparkPeople.com

2 Comments

Filed under Essay, Music, PSA, TV

2 responses to “Quick Update

  1. Pingback: My Top 5 Albums of 2011 « The Alternative Hausfrau

  2. Pingback: A Study In Sherlock « The Alternative Hausfrau

Leave a comment